Skip to content

The Authors

In alphabetical order…

Philip Athans

Jay Lake

J.M. McDermott

Mats Minnhagen

Mel Odom

Cat Rambo

Mike Resnick

Brad R. Torgersen


Philip Athans is the founding partner of Athans & Associates Creative Consulting, and the New York Times best-selling author of Annihilation and a dozen other fantasy and horror books including The Guide to Writing Fantasy & Science Fiction and the recently-released Completely Broken and The Haunting of Dragon’s Cliff (with Mel Odom). Born in Rochester, New York he grew up in suburban Chicago, where he published the literary magazine Alternative Fiction & Poetry. He now makes his home in the foothills of the Washington Cascades, east of Seattle. His blog, Fantasy Author’s Handbook, is updated every Tuesday, and you can follow him on Twitter @PhilAthans.

Jay Lake lives in Portland, Oregon, where he works on numerous writing and editing projects. His 2011/2012 books are Endurance and Kalimpura from Tor Books, and Love in the Time of Metal and Flesh from Prime Books. His short fiction appears regularly in literary and genre markets worldwide. Jay is a past winner of the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, and a multiple nominee for the Hugo and World Fantasy Awards.

J. M. McDermott is the author of the novels Never Knew AnotherWhen We Were Executioners, and Last DragonHe lives east of Atlanta in a maze of coffee cups, bookshelves, and crazy schemes.

Mats Minnhagen is a Swedish illustrator and concept artist. He has worked for EA Dice, Wizards of the Coast, and many others.

Mel Odom is a full-time writer and lives in Oklahoma with his wife and children. His 150+ books span several genres and pseudonyms. His fantasy novel The Rover won the Alex Award in 2002. He blogs at and reviews books and comics at He can be reached

Cat Rambo’s short story collection, Eyes Like Sky and Coal and Moonlight, was a 2010 Endeavour Award finalist. Her work has appeared in such places as Asimov’s, Weird Tales, and Clarkesworld. She is the former fiction editor of Fantasy Magazine and a current tech journalist. Links to her online work can be found on her website at

Mike Resnick is, according to Locus, the all-time leading award winner, living or dead, for short fiction. He has won five Hugos, a Nebula, and numerous other major awards in the USA, France, Japan, Poland, Croatia, and Spain, and has been shortlisted for major awards in Australia, England, and Italy. He is the author of 68 novels, about 250 short stories, and two screenplays, and is the editor of 40 anthologies. His work has been translated into 25 languages.

A full-time healthcare tech geek by day, and United States Army Reserve Warrant Officer on weekends, Brad R. Torgersen is a Writers of the Future winner, as well as a contributing author for Orson Scott Card’s Intergalactic Medicine show, and Analog Science Fiction and Fact magazine—the latter awarding him the AnLab readers choice prize for best novelette, 2010. Married, with one daughter, Brad’s back home in the Rocky Mountain West, after spending fourteen years living and working in various places around the Puget Sound.






Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: